The word from the trenches: Show Season

Shoreline Booth photo

If I haven’t been here as much as I thought, it’s because I’ve been in the middle of show season, and making product, re – packing my boxes, and updating the books like a crazy person. At the beginning of the year, I decided that 2013 would be the year that I focused on local sales and shows. It’s been a steep learning curve, but so far, it’s been a hoot.

I’ll be heading back to the Shoreline Farmer’s Market this weekend, and to a few other local shows this summer and fall. I love being surrounded by vendors who love what they do. Whether it’s the bicycle driven smoothie guys, or the organic farmers bringing garlic scapes and orange carrots, everyone is there because they love it. True, everyone has a business to run, but almost nobody is going to become a millionaire from selling carrots. You have to love the craft of it, the process of making your products and bringing it to the market. I leave the shows re – energized to work harder and to try new things back in the studio when I get home.

Best of all, I love the shoppers. I love hearing what people are up to, what they’re looking for, and what they think of my work. After months of working in the studio, it can be a little disheartening to see slow sales on Etsy, not knowing whether people even see what you’ve got. But in a show, I get to see people pick up the work, hold it, turn it over. I get to hear what something reminds them of, what they like about it, what they had hoped for. Better still, folks ask for what they want. “Do you have any irises? I wish the butterfly was in a card.” Finally! I get a new idea, or a new way of looking at an old one. Just what I’d been waiting for.

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

