Unplugged Sundays

Orcas 11 2010 ed

Tonight, I’m unplugging the router, turning off my cell phone, and going to bed. Tomorrow, I’ll wake up when I am done sleeping. I’ll probably make breakfast for The Hubs, feed the guinea pigs, and see what happens from there. At our house, we started unplugging Sundays, and it’s been amazing to see what develops.

I cook more of the fabulous things I read about online. I fritter around in the studio, get a few projects started without worrying about meeting a deadline. I dig in the garden. I go for a walk. I sleep. I write. Maybe even on the computer.

But mostly, we reset the rhythm of our days. We turn everything back to zero, stop listening to all the buzzers and alarms and alerts, and listen for what emerges out of the silence. It takes the first hours of the day to get used to the idea. Then it takes an hour to get over not knowing what’s happening on Facebook, over missing a text message. After that, we’re too busy enjoying ourselves to know anything different.

What I am discovering is that there is something very simple, very clean, about listening to what you want or need, and then doing that. There is nothing more delicious than looking up, thinking that you are tired, and then toddling off to bed for a nap. Or remembering a scene from a book, and then spending the afternoon reading the whole thing. The rest of my life is so structured, by work, by home, by outings and errands, that this island of peace is very precious.

So I’ll see you all again soon. But not tomorrow. I’ll be busy out in the garden, or walking in the neighborhood, or sleeping. Yes. Definitely sleeping.

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

